For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

DUSU Election Result 2023 LIVE Updates: ABVP Wins Three Seats, NSUI Bags Vice President Post

DUSU Election Result 2023 LIVE: In the 2019 elections, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP)-backed candidates Dahiya was elected president, Pradeep Tanwar vice-president and Shinvangi Kharwal joint secretary of the students' union. 
12:13 PM Sep 23, 2023 IST | News24 Desk
dusu election result 2023 live updates  abvp wins three seats  nsui bags vice president post
Delhi University (Photo Credit: File)

DUSU Election Result 2023 LIVE: The counting of votes for DUSU election 2023 is underway and the results of all four central panel posts -- president, vice-president, secretary and joint secretary -- will be announced shortly. A total of 24 candidates are in the fray for the four posts. During the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) central panel elections, a voter turnout of 42 per cent was recorded. This election marked a significant event as students cast their votes for the central panel after nearly a four-year gap. For the unversed, election to the student's body was last held in 2019 as the polls could not be held in 2020 and 2021 because of Covid-19 and disruptions to the academic calendar prevented the elections in 2022.



In a clean sweep in DUSU election 2023, ABVP wins three seats. However, NSUI bags Vice President post.

ABVP's candidate Tushar Dedha secured the position of President, while Aprajita emerged victorious in the race for Secretary. Additionally, Sachin Baisla clinched the Joint Secretary position. On the other hand, NSUI candidate Abhi Dahiya secured the post of Vice President.

Kiren Rijiju congratulates ABVP candidates

 Kiren Rijiju tweeted, "Rahul Gandhi campaigned in Delhi University Students Union Election which helped ABVP to increase it's vote share! Congratulations to all the Winning Candidates of ABVP, it's cadres as well as all the wishers!,"

Votes cast after 16 rounds of counting

ABVP: 19779
NSUI: 12,225

ABVP: 13056
NSUI: 13306

ABVP: 15993
NSUI: 6798

Jt. Secretary
ABVP: 15332
NSUI: 8811

Counting for 18 rounds completed

ABVP is leading on three seats, while NSUI has got lead on one seat.

After 16 rounds of counting

Tushar Dedha President leading with 2554
Sushant Dhankar VP trailing by 250
Aprajita Secretary leading with 8695
Sachin Baisla leading with 6721

ABVP Ahead in 32 College Unions

ABVP is ahead in 32 college union elections, securing a majority, whereas NSUI has emerged as the frontrunner in 17 college unions.

Alka Lamba on DUSU results

"NSUI leading in all 4 posts," Alka Lamba wrote on DUSU election results.

5 Rounds of Counting Done

ABVP continues to lead after 5 rounds of counting. 12 rounds left.

Name of Participating Unions

RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP),
Congress students' wing National Students' Union of India (NSUI),
CPI(M)-backed Students' Federation of India (SFI),
Left group All India Students' Association (AISA)

Delhi Traffic Police issued traffic advisory via their official Twitter handle.

ABVP candidate ahead after 2 rounds of counting

#WATCH | Security has been tightened in the North Campus area of Delhi University ahead of the counting of votes for the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections today. pic.twitter.com/2ctD3339G6

— ANI (@ANI) September 23, 2023

Elections to the varsity's student body are organised simultaneously with polls at the college level.

Nearly 2,500 students contest the elections for the nearly 500 posts.

In the 2019 elections, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP)-backed candidates Dahiya was elected president, Pradeep Tanwar vice-president and Shinvangi Kharwal joint secretary of the students' union.

DUSU is the main representative body of students from most colleges and faculties. Apart from this, each college has its own students' union, elections which are held annually.

DUSU elections are held via direct voting by students of the varsity and member colleges. They are usually conducted in August-September.


Eight candidates who filled their nomination for the post of the president are Aiyesha Ahmad Khan from Miranda House, Arif Siddiqui from the Department of Buddhist Studies, Himanshu Thakur from Hansraj College, Hitesh Gulia Alias Hitesh from Law Cente, Shimpi from Lakshmi Bai College, Shraddha Gupta from Department of Library and Information Science, Soumya Kumar Satyam from  A-U Tibbia College and Tushar Dedha from the Department of Buddhist Studies.

Meanwhile, the chief election officer received five nominations for the post of Vice President - Abhi Dahiya from the Department of Buddhist Studies, Ankit from Campus Law Centre, Anushka Chaudhary from Law Centre, Sushant Dhankar from the Department of Buddhist Studies and Yash Khatri from Shivaji College.

Six candidates have filed their nominations for the post of Secretary. These include Aditi Tyagi from South Delhi Campus, Aditya Pratap Singh from Deshbandhu College, Aprajita from Department of Buddhist Studies, Kavita from Aditi Mahavidyalaya, Nishi Himanshu Raj from Law Centre II and Yakshna Sharma from Campus Law Centre.

Tags :
tlbr_img1 World tlbr_img2 Trending tlbr_img3 Entertainment tlbr_img4 Video