For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Narendra Modi-Led NDA 3.0 To Claim Government Formation Today: Sources

Senior alliance members like N Chandrababu Naidu and Nitish Kumar will join Modi in meeting President Murmu to present the list of supporting parliamentarians.
09:58 AM Jun 07, 2024 IST | Aniket Raj
narendra modi led nda 3 0 to claim government formation today  sources

According to sources, the newly elected members of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will convene on Friday to select Narendra Modi as their leader. Following this, the coalition will move to form the government.

The meeting to elect Narendra Modi as the leader of the NDA MPs, which will enable him to take oath as Prime Minister for a third term, is set to occur at 11 AM in Parliament's Central Hall.

After the meeting, the NDA will formally claim to form the government. All constituents of the NDA are expected to submit letters of support to President Droupadi Murmu, expressing their endorsement of Modi as the new Prime Minister.

Senior alliance members, including TDP's N Chandrababu Naidu and JD(U)'s Nitish Kumar, will accompany Narendra Modi in a meeting with the President to submit the list of parliamentarians supporting him. These leaders have urged Modi to expedite the government formation process.

Before the NDA MPs' meeting in Parliament's Central Hall, TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu, a key figure in the coalition, has called a gathering with his newly elected lawmakers at 9:30 AM. After this session, the TDP MPs will join the NDA MPs at 11 AM in Central Hall.

In the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls, the NDA secured a comfortable majority with 293 MPs, well above the required 272 in the 543-member Lower House.

Also Read: Relief From Heatwave As Duststorm Sweeps Delhi; Rain Predicted

On Thursday, senior BJP leaders, including Union ministers Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, held discussions to initiate the government formation process. The meeting was attended by newly elected MPs of the BJP and NDA constituent parties, Rajya Sabha MPs, Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers of states governed by the BJP and NDA, floor leaders of legislative assemblies and councils, and national office bearers of the BJP.

Narendra Modi, gearing up for his third consecutive term, presided over a meeting of the ruling alliance's members on Wednesday, during which he was unanimously chosen as the NDA leader. Sources indicated that he is expected to be sworn in as Prime Minister on Sunday, June 9.

Also Read: Chhattisgarh: 13-Year-Old Girl Raped By Six, Including Four Minors

Tags :
tlbr_img1 World tlbr_img2 Trending tlbr_img3 Entertainment tlbr_img4 Video