For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Comedian Shyam Rangeela's Nomination For Varanasi Seat Rejected

Shyam Rangeela submitted his nomination as an Independent candidate on May 14, documenting the process through a video on social media.
08:41 PM May 15, 2024 IST | Shashwat Nishant
comedian shyam rangeela s nomination for varanasi seat rejected
Shyam Rangeela

Comedian Shyam Rangeela, known for his mimicry of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, faced a setback as his nomination from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat was rejected. Rangeela had gained popularity for his humorous portrayals of political figures, particularly PM Modi. In a bold move earlier this month, he announced his candidacy to contest against PM Modi in the Varanasi constituency.

Rangeela submitted his nomination as an Independent candidate on May 14, documenting the process through a video posted on social media. However, a day later, the Election Commission of India's website indicated that his nomination had been turned down.

The comedian had encountered obstacles while attempting to file his nomination. He reported difficulties in finding individuals willing to endorse his candidacy and alleged bureaucratic hindrances. Despite facing challenges, Rangeela persisted in his efforts. On May 14, he highlighted the lack of responsiveness from officials, stating that he was unable to complete the nomination process. Nonetheless, he eventually managed to submit the necessary paperwork, assuring that all requirements were met.

Despite his determination, Rangeela's nomination was ultimately rejected by the Election Commission. This development marks a setback in his aspiration to contest against PM Modi in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The Varanasi constituency in Uttar Pradesh, where Rangeela sought to run, is scheduled for polling in the final phase on June 1. The outcome of the elections will be determined through vote counting on June 4. Rangeela's unsuccessful bid underscores the challenges faced by independent candidates navigating the electoral process in India.

Also Read: 14 Individuals Receive First Citizenship Certificates Under CAA

Tags :
tlbr_img1 World tlbr_img2 Trending tlbr_img3 Entertainment tlbr_img4 Video