For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

What! Priyanka Gandhi Unlikely To Contest Lok Sabha Elections 2024? Here’s What Sources Indicate

Priyanka Gandhi is reportedly not expected to run in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, focusing on campaigning instead. Congress leaders contemplate Rahul Gandhi's candidacy for the significant Amethi and Raebareli seats in Uttar Pradesh, with a decision anticipated within 24 hours.
10:43 AM Apr 30, 2024 IST | Saurav Gupta
what  priyanka gandhi unlikely to contest lok sabha elections 2024  here’s what sources indicate
Priyanka Gandhi

Sources indicate that Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is unlikely to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, focusing instead on campaign activities. The decision follows ongoing uncertainty regarding Congress candidates for the significant Amethi and Raebareli seats in Uttar Pradesh.

It's anticipated that Priyanka Gandhi will solely engage in election campaigning, with a final determination on Rahul Gandhi's candidacy for Amethi or Raebareli expected within 24 hours.

This update follows suggestions made during the Congress Central Election Committee meeting, where there was strong support for the Gandhi siblings to represent Amethi and Raebareli. However, a definitive decision is pending.

Also read: Another Jolt To Congress! Indore Candidate Akshay Bam Joins BJP Ahead Of Voting

Both Amethi and Raebareli are scheduled for elections on May 20. In the 2019 polls, Rahul Gandhi lost Amethi to Union Minister Smriti Irani, marking a significant electoral shift in the Congress bastion he had held from 2004 to 2014.

Currently, Rahul Gandhi is vying for re-election from the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala, which went to the polls on April 26. Additionally, Sonia Gandhi recently vacated the Raebareli seat to transition to the Rajya Sabha.

The ambiguity surrounding the Amethi-Raebareli candidacies was raised during a press conference on April 27, where Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge addressed BJP criticism of Rahul Gandhi's choice to contest from Wayanad instead of Amethi. In response, Kharge highlighted similar electoral changes made by BJP leaders like Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Lal Krishna Advani.

Tags :
tlbr_img1 World tlbr_img2 Trending tlbr_img3 Entertainment tlbr_img4 Video